I’m a Gamer, that’s how I roll

What are the things that define you? Me, I’ve been playing games of every different type for almost as long as I can remember.

I didn’t think of myself as a geek for most of my youth. Other people might have, but to myself, I was a metalhead; a headbanger. Now I’m all grown up, and there’s one thing that’s been constant no matter what other interests I’ve had: Gaming.


This Sunday, I celebrated
20 years with the miniature hobby. As I mused on a year ago, I bought my first paints on my 11:th birthday. Now I’m 31. Still playing with toy soldiers. No plans to stop.

Some may like sudoku or crossword puzzles. I like the open-endedness of a well designed game. I like the mental exercise Carcassonne or Power Grid or Magic the Gathering gives me. I like the way games transmute over time. As you learn more about their particular mechanics, the experience changes, and takes you along for the ride.

Above all, I like how 40k engages my feelings as well as my intellect. It may not have the deep and tight gameplay of some other games, but makes up for it by oozing with flavour. Here’s to another 20 years.


Speaking of age,
tomorrow is Old Stuff Day! Come back to read my pick of posts you shouldn’t have missed.

Leave a Reply

